I-30 Speedway – Little Rock, Arkansas

i30-speedway-logo

A  lot of you military veterans may have heard of this racetrack in Little Rock,  Arkansas called I-30 Speedway but this is way before most of you were even born.   That being the 1970s during the time of Sidney Moncrief,  Ron Brewer and Marvin Delph,  the Triplets and not too long after the University of Arkansas won the National Championship in college football in 1964.

For those of you that haven’t then you need to need that it is not far from Jacksonville, AR’s Little Rock Air Force Base where I was stationed from late 1974 through Aug,  1981.     Shout outs to Edie Panther and Starr Olson at the base.   While at the base I got to see the late Jerry Inman in the D-7  Late Model and another Late Model with the # UFO.    Anyone with a picture of that car let me know.

I also remember a guy from Dallas in the sprint car that came to the track to race and I think his name was Finch in the #7 car.    Anyhow,  a lady behind me apparently did not like him all that much because she said and I quote, ” I hope that son-of-a-bitch wrecks hard”.    He did and nearly got killed and it was just seconds after she said that.   She was sheepish after he flipped end over end while safety crews were extricating him from the car.

Passions run high in racing and it is one of the few events in sports where  you know and can even talk to the stars- the drivers.    And good drivers you have had a few great drivers in more than one division.   They include Mark Martin,  Billy Moyer,   Jerry Inman and the list is too long as is Billy Moyer and his records. Oh and his son in the 21JR.

http://www.billymoyer.com/

http://www.billymoyerjr.com/

BM1BM2

Below is #84 of Bob Senneker and the #2 of Mark Martin.

Bob Senneker and Mark MartinJerry Inman img797-S

The new season is getting ready to start but has been pushed back one week with the test and tune next practice next Thursday and Opening night Saturday at 5:30PM.

http://www.i-30speedway.com/

Burt Reynolds at I-30  Burt Reynolds at I-30 for the filming of ‘White Lightning’.

http://www.onedirt.com/features/tracey-clay-success-against-the-odds/

jason-johnson5Jordan Mallet

Brad Sweet RacingWoo19

Leave a comment